Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

De-stressing with Yarn

Image         Image

 

 

I had to make several phone calls today that I had been dreading for a while. The worst was to my ex partner, to explain that our daughter did not want to speak to him on the phone at the minute, and did not want to see him in person either. I had to do that as it was what my daughter wanted, she is suffering from terrible anxiety  and is awaiting a referral for counselling. Naturally he is accusing me of filling her head with lies and turning her against him. I was left with a sense of deep unease afterwards, and a nagging fear that one day he will turn up on our doorstep and do something terrible. 

 

On the plus side; the phone calls are out of the way, my daughter heard me on the phone and came in afterwards to thank me and to tell me that she feels safe now, and together we will heal from this ordeal and come out stronger. Every difficult step that we take is one less that we have to face tomorrow. 

 

Plus, all that stress sure got that cardigan finished in no time 🙂

Comments on: "De-stressing with Yarn" (20)

  1. Well this isn’t a post I can hit like on but I hope you are both ok.

  2. Hoping you have more good days than stressful ones. Although that cardigan looks amazing – gosh how FAST do you crochet?? 😀

    • Ha ha I think my work rate definitely increases with stress, so the cardigan just flew off the hook in no time. We do have more good days than bad, luckily 🙂

  3. no one can understand a daughter as a mom does …can understand your situation. Hope things sort out for you soon. My best wishes to you and your daughter.

    • Thank you. I feel like this is the beginning of the end of the hard times, if that makes sense. Up to now my daughter, my son and I have really just been existing, but now we can start properly living again 🙂

      • That’s great to know…have a fun-tastic Christmas all three of you !

        crocheting is so therapeutic and magical isn’t it ? I got rid off my arthritis on my hands by just crocheting 🙂

      • Really? That is great news! You must be so happy to be free of that awful pain – and what a great excuse to do loads of yarn shopping 🙂

      • yeah, I had a lot of difficulty lifting even sauce pans at one time. And then I discovered, that the pain reduced tremendously whenever I crocheted. So I started to crochet regularly on a daily basis, and the pain totally disappeared…this was a couple of years ago.
        I have heard crochet helps in a lot of psycho therapy too.

      • I am so glad to hear this, crochet has so many benefits, it seems – plus we have lovely handmade bits and pieces at the end to double the satisfaction 🙂

  4. Hugs – cardigan looks fab by the way 🙂

  5. Wow, you’re a knitting machine! Sending hugs, doing the right thing should never have to be so hard.

    • Thank you. It was a very hard day, but I woke up this morning filled with hope, and I haven’t woken up like that in a long time, so I think we are heading in the right direction 🙂

  6. Yikes. That sounds difficult. Well done on making the calls AND finishing the beautiful cardigan. On a light-hearted note, (and I hope you don’t mind me being light-hearted on a serious post), do you find that stress/anger etc affects the tension in your knitting? Maybe not, because your cardigan looks as though it has come out just perfect.

    Anyway, I hope that tomorrow is a much easier day.

    • I don’t mind light-heartedness at all, the sentiment behind the post was a positive one, so I am in a good place right now. 🙂
      Stress does affect my tension, more so when I knit as my tension would be fairly tight anyway. Knitting under stress can result in some very tiny finished pieces for me! 🙂

  7. Well done on taking the bull by the horns. You can all work through this. One step at a time. xx

I would love to hear what you think!

Tag Cloud

