Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

 

Image

 

Not a crochet post today, although I have been plenty busy with the yarn. 

I wanted to share this, not so that I can brag about how wonderful my kids are or to fret about how on earth Santa is going to grant this particular Christmas wish. I wanted to share it because it helped me so much this morning when things were looking very grim indeed.

 

Money is tight in our house. It is tight all year, and worse at Christmas, like so many families. This year I was upset because I don’t know where the money is going to come from to sort the kids out with toys, new clothes, and a good dinner. 

 

The kids wrote their letters to Santa last night. I have always told them to ask for three things, and three things only. Anything extra will come as a nice surprise – and it means much less stress for Santa! They take a lot of time and care choosing their three things, so the letter writing often takes a long time.

Then, this morning, mid-worry session, I read over my daughters letter and saw that one of her three wishes was that other children would have enough to eat on Christmas Day. I burst into tears! I am not much of a crier, but that really got me, because it made me ashamed that I had been worrying so much when there are children out there who will have a miserable Christmas, and a miserable life. 

 

So, my mission now, is to find a way to help my kids’ wish come true, at least in some small way. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can get the kids involved in giving to others this year? Any help at all would be much appreciated. (I know we could just put some money in a charity collection box, but I would love for the kids to be able to feel as though they are actively doing something real to help!)

Comments on: "Children are the Real Teachers" (18)

  1. That is lovely 🙂

  2. I don’t know where you live but you could donate to your local foodbank.
    This website gives the locations of the Trussell Trust foodbank centres but I am sure there are others if you search online. http://www.trusselltrust.org/map
    Just taking your kids to the food bank to donate something Christmas relevant would be something they would never forget.
    In fact, I shall do the same.

    • Great idea, thank you! I think we do have a foodbank near us, bless anyone who is having to use it at this time of year. I must find out how I can donate 🙂

  3. What a beautiful child. 😉 Its still early in the year maybe she could organize a class project with your help.

    I like that 3 items thing we will be trying that this year too.

    • Getting her class involved is a good idea, I’ve been chatting to some of the other mums and they would like to do something too.
      As for the 3 items, if I didn’t put a limit on it the list would be several pages long! 🙂

  4. Ahh, how sweet! Is there something she could do to raise money, for example for the Typhoon, a cake sale maybe or approach the local Red Cross or similar charity. Sometimes they have a scheme where you put items in a shoe box to send off? Kim – eastsleepbakerepeat.wordpress.com x x

    • Those are great ideas, it was actually some terrible pictures from the typhoon that got her thinking about helping others. Sometimes I think the pictures are too graphic, but maybe its good that they make people want to help!

      • I agree the pictures are graphic, but it’s happening and we can’t ignore it. It’s good that people are made aware, and children are taught about the world x

  5. Aww I felt like crying too reading this . Your daughter will grow up to be a wonderful loving, compassionate woman. God bless her.

  6. We sometimes go to donate gifts under the giving tree at the local newspaper. Last year, I also took my daughter to a local nursing home on Christmas Day with candy canes and chocolates and asked the nurses to show me to rooms where the residents have not received any visitors.

  7. What a great job you are doing raising your kids! That’s an amazing letter 🙂

I would love to hear what you think!

Tag Cloud

