Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

It’s growing!

Image

 

A little update on the project I started yesterday after a bolt of inspiration from the blue (well, more of an internet search than a flash of brilliance!), my first Bruges lace.

I have used, it seems, a larger hook than the recommended size, which means my work is coming out quite open, and quite large. It is already the size of a small plate, and still has two or three rounds to go. It is going to be quite a size when it is finished, but I don’t really mind as I am planning to put it on the table anyway, hopefully in time for Christmas Day. 

As projects go, this one has been surprisingly soothing, with very few moments of confusion or annoyance. I would recommend Bruges lace as a starting point for anyone considering a first crocheted lace project, as it uses very few stitches, is quite repetitive, and works up quite quickly, good if you are a little impatient, like me! 

Finally, I have to say thank you to SuzJones for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award. Thanks a million for the nomination, I know I need to put up a list of my own favourite blogs now, and will be doing that tomorrow, hopefully, when I have a little more time. 

Anyway, somehow it is now 1:20 am here and I am not in bed, in spite of an early start looming ahead. Not clever! So I’m off to bed now, I hope everyone is having a great weekend.

Comments on: "It’s growing!" (8)

  1. It looks wonderful. 🙂 You are so very talented.

  2. Great going there ! looks complicated.

    • Thank you 🙂 Not as complicated as it looks, although I have had a few put-it-down-and-make-a-cup-of-coffee moments! I think it is helping me with my visualisation issues; I was told years ago that a female brain finds it more difficult to plot shapes and patterns?! Could that be true? Surely not! 🙂

  3. It’s looking great. I love how crochet can look really intricate (like this) but be only made of a few stitches.

    • It definitely looks a lot harder than it is, which had put me off trying Bruges lace for a long time. I am now looking forward to trying other types of crocheted lace too, they are all so beautiful!

  4. That’s so beautiful and delicate and beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

I would love to hear what you think!

Tag Cloud

