Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

Image

It’s finished, the first piece of Bruges lace I have ever attempted, and even though I stood on a chair, I still haven’t managed to fit it all into the photograph.  Although it wasn’t technically difficult, there were times when I would hold it up and wonder why on earth I was carrying on with this when it was looking so awful! Here is how it looked pre-blocking;

Image

It does make me giggle a bit to see it looking like that, and I wonder at all the times in the past when I have ripped something out in frustration because it didn’t look right, when in fact all it needed was to be sprayed with water, pinned out, and left to dry.

If I was the type to get all deep and philosophical I would suggest that there are many times in life when we just have to trust that, as crappy as things are right now, they will all turn out the way they should in the end. I’m not, so I won’t, but I will admit that when I stood back and looked at my new lace doily drying on the kitchen table, that is the thought that popped into my head.

Learning to see the bigger picture through crochet, who knew, right? 🙂

Comments on: "Keeping the faith – and the wonder of blocking" (10)

  1. That is beautiful, well done!

  2. It’s beautiful. How big is it?

  3. Crochet teaches many lessons. For me patience, perseverance, and appreciating my skills and talents.
    Fantastic work! http://guywhocrochets.wordpress.com/

  4. Wow! That is such a stunning piece of work. Are you going to make any more?

    • Thank you! I think I might try another pattern as I really enjoyed this one, or perhaps try a different lace technique – there are so many! Not enough hours in the day 🙂

I would love to hear what you think!

Tag Cloud

