Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

Amigurumi-family

Image

My boy has had a haircut since I made these, and my girl doesn’t wear pink anymore, but the likeness is still there! I crocheted two “mini-me”s for the kids, small enough to hold in one hand, three years ago, and they have become a great, unexpected souvenir of that time. They make me laugh because I remember how my boy was born with a great mop of hair, and how he refused to keep his clothes on for the first year and was often found running around the house in only a nappy. My girl requested a pink dress and matching shoes – she was well into her pink, princess phase at the time. I also made her a pony, using a free internet pattern, apologies to the author but I cannot remember the website for this.

Image

We never had a pony, but we did have a much loved dog. I had trouble using black yarn on such a small project, but I managed to create a little mini-dog too.

Image

VERY hard to photograph! That lovely dog is no longer with us, so it is nice for my kids to have a little keepsake to remember him by.

I must have gone through quite a mini-me phase, now I look back there were quite a few people who received little yarny versions of themselves. I am quite tempted to do an updated version of the kids, as soon as the Christmas pressure is off. But there is no way I am attempting the dwarf hamsters or the goldfish that the kids now own, small may be cute but teeny weeny is just too stress-inducing!

Comments on: "Amigurumi-family" (5)

  1. Those are so cute! And yeah, the dwarf hamsters might be a bit too hard to crochet. 🙂

  2. Love your ‘mini me’ idea 🙂 I think I will try making a ‘teeny me’ for my teenage dotty 😉 Very cute mini meees ! Looking forward to seeing your updated version.

    • I don’t know how accurate the new ones will be, as my boy refuses to acknowledge the fact that he is the smaller of the two – his mini-me might be a little on the stretched side! 🙂

  3. What a great thing to do for the children. 😛

I would love to hear what you think!

Tag Cloud

