Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

Image

 

I don’t celebrate New Years. I have spent the years finding various ways to steer clear of the hype and the big countdown. In the past I have had some very early nights, some very long baths, and some extreme reading marathons, each of which worked in their own way, although I did end up with some puffy eyes after a whole night of reading! 

This year was a dancing robot, in crochet. I wish it had taken a little longer, but I am pleased to be sharing this picture of him tonight  I feel he shows that I am not dodging the festivities because I am being negative, or because I am anti-social, but that I want to greet the New Year and all of its’ hopes and promises in the morning, with my children, rather than sitting here on the sofa, alone, at midnight. I always feel that the big countdown leaves me facing backwards, looking over the old year and the pain it brought with it. I want to wake up and find everything brand new, like an adult version of Christmas, I suppose. Waking up to find the gift of a new year and another new beginning. Hope its good for all of you too, whether you are celebrating or not. 🙂

p.s. Robot of the Day this one is for you

Comments on: "Trying to avoid the countdown!" (8)

  1. This robot seems to be sprinting ahead ! Crocheting yourself into 2014 …way to go 🙂 Wish you a wonderful 2014.

  2. I don’t tend to do much for New Year either. I tend to go to bed, wake up at ten to midnight, see the New Year in with my family and then go back to bed. It is sad in a way, I understand what you mean. I love your robot, he is very sweet and happy looking 🙂

    • Thank you, a happy robot was just what I needed to get me through that night, now he will be a nice souvenir of an evening that really went my way 🙂

  3. That is so cool! Good for you.

  4. I love this dancing robot! Did you make the pattern yourself? It’s really clever. One of my favourite jumpers has two neon pink robots on it. I tell my fiancé that he’s the big robot and I’m the little robot 🙂

    • Thank you! It is my own work, but as he is just made from squares and rectangles, it wasn’t too difficult to plot on graph paper. I love the sound of that robot jumper of yours! 🙂

I would love to hear what you think!

Tag Cloud

