Sharing the crochet love. And some robots.

Falling Out of Love…

Image ..with a yarn.

 

With apologies to the manufacturer of this yarn, whose name I cannot remember; when I bought this I imagined a lovely wrap or shawl in deep, natural colours, blending into one another and creating a thing of beauty. 

Now, when I look at it, I see dental floss used by a stinky witch. Or the spun hair from a shaved ogre. Or some other things that I can’t really type here without blushing.

The picture doesn’t quite show how dark these colours are, the flash bleached them out a little. I feel so disappointed, the yarn that I had such high hopes for is now a real drag to work with, and has become a lesson in stubborn-ness for me, rather than a project to bring me joy and satisfaction. (I will NOT be beaten by this ball of yarn! I will continue to beat this stash into submission, so help me!)

The colours are so dark that my eyes can only cope with working on this in natural daylight; but it’s not just that, it’s the hairiness of the yarn. What I thought was going to be lovely fuzzy softness quickly became very annoying to work with.

Never before have I got it so wrong when choosing a yarn! Has anyone else ever been besotted with a yarny purchase, only to come crashing back to reality when it comes to actually using it? I hope I am not the only one!

But it’s not all bad, I managed to incorporate this hairy beast into the blanket I am currently working on (dubbed the “Hunger Games” Blanket by some lovely fellow bloggers!) and now that it is surrounded by patches of other colours, I don’t hate it so much. So the yarn is almost all used up now, and the blanket is going to an old peoples’ home when it is finished, so it will be keeping some elderly gentleman cosy while also being far, far away from me. Everyone’s a winner! 

Comments on: "Falling Out of Love…" (5)

  1. Yeah, I was going to suggest mixing it up with rows or smt of a livelier colour before I finished reading. Hopefully it will end up looking great with the contrast!

    • It needed a little something to brighten it up and break up the dark bits, alright – but I don’t know why I got so fed up while using it! I think it might have been the difficulty in seeing it properly in the evenings, usually my cosy-up crochet time. I will post a pic when the blanket is finished 🙂

  2. It says Halloween to me 🙂

    I bought some boucle/poodle type yarn once. Two huge skeins of it, mainly because I loved the colours. It’s horrible to crochet with as you can’t see the stitches. I’ve made a scarf with it, but I’ve still got most if it left. I’ve hidden it where it won’t taunt me.

    • ha ha, that is exactly what happened to me – I was taunted by my bad bad yarn purchase! I had to use it up just to get it out of the house.
      I have tried boucle too, it looks so nice and soft but really hard to work with. I think I might have given mine to my mum to knit with…I’m so “generous!” 🙂

I would love to hear what you think!

Tag Cloud

